one thousand words

While having a conversation online about the way we write and read online, I found a friend’s committment to finish some writing she started many years ago. I admire persistence above most things, so I’m making my own commitment here: I will write (at least) one thousand words each week for the rest of the year. I’m starting today, because I have already spent enough time not writing, and I have complicated and irksome feelings about that. Mostly I come back to an example in a bookI don’t have time for that. The time I have is not for that. It’s not true. I need to rearrange some time, and I’m writing this to hold myself to that arrangement. Sure, it hasn’t worked in the past, but: persistence. The time I have is for trying, until it sticks.

One hundred forty words (or more), and I’m clicking “Publish.”

About this entry